• Delicious
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
 
Directory Listing
 
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences» Classical and Modern Languages, Literatures, and Cultures » Directory
Chair | Full-time Faculty | Affiliated & Adjunct Faculty | Part Time Faculty | Retired Faculty | Staff | 
For further informaton about a faculty member, click on his or her name or picture.
Chair
Anne E. Duggan
Title: Chair and Associate Professor of French
Office#: 477 Manoogian
Phone: (313) 577-6244
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Early Modern Literature and Culture; Fairy Tales
E-Mail: a.duggan@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/duggan/
Full-time Faculty
Catherine Barrette
Title: Associate Professor - Spanish / Coordinator of Basic Language Courses
Office#: 375 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Technology, Assessment, Pedagogy
E-Mail: c.barrette@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/c-barrette
Kenneth Norman Brostrom
Title: Associate Professor - Russian
Office#: 451 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Medieval, 19th and 20th century Russian literature
E-Mail: kenneth.brostrom@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/kenneth-brostrom
Eugenia Casielles
Title: Associate Professor - Spanish
Office#: 303 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Syntax, Pragmatics, Spanish Linguistics
E-Mail: e.casielles@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/e-casielles
Alina Cherry
Title: Assistant Professor - French
Office#: 479 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: 20th and 21st century French literature
E-Mail: alina.cherry@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/alina-cherry
Alfred L. Cobbs
Title: Associate Professor - German
Office#: 407 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: 20th-century drama, German-American relations
E-Mail: a.cobbs@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/a-cobbs
Jorgelina Corbatta
Title: Professor - Spanish
Office#: 323 Manoogian Hall
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Hispanic-American literature
E-Mail: j.corbatta@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/j-corbatta
Edith Michaeli Covensky
Title: Senior Lecturer - Hebrew / Undergraduate Advisor for Hebrew
Office#: 455 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Modern and Contemporary Hebrew Poetry
E-Mail: edithcovensky@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/edithcovensky
Raffaele DeBenedictis
Title: Associate Professor - Italian
Office#: 415 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Italian Medieval and Renaissance Literature
E-Mail: rdebenedictis@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/r-debenedictis
Vanessa DeGifis
Title: Assistant Professor - Near East / Graduate Advisor - Near East
Office#: 452 Manoogian
Phone: (313) 577-0481
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Classical Islamic thought and Qur'anic studies
E-Mail: vdegifis@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/vdegifis
Mohamed El-Sharkawi
Title: Assistant Professor - Near East
Office#: 487 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: History and Development of Arabic
E-Mail: ev7829@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/ev7829
Mark A. Ferguson
Title: Senior Lecturer - German / Junior Year in Munich Program Director
Office#: 473 Manoogian
Phone: (313) 577-4605
Fax: (313) 577-3266
Research Area: German intellectual and cultural history
E-Mail: mark.ferguson@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/mark-ferguson
Victor Figueroa
Title: Associate Professor - Spanish
Office#: 459 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
E-Mail: vfigueroa@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/vfigueroa
Isamu Fukuchi
Title: Senior Lecturer - Japnese / Undergraduate Advisor - Japanese
Office#: 165 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Japanese Literature, Modernity
E-Mail: ak4971@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/ak4971
Hernan Manuel Garcia
Title: Assistant Professor - Spanish
Office#:
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Contemporary Mexican Literature and Culture
E-Mail: hgarcia@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/hgarcia
Michael Joseph Giordano
Title: Professor - French / Graduate Advisor - Romance Languages
Office#: 469 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: 16th and early 17th-Century French Literature
E-Mail: m.j.giordano@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/m-j-giordano
Silvia Giorgini-Althoen
Title: Lecturer & Coordinator Basic Italian Language Courses
Office#: 475 Manoogian
Phone: (313) 577-3008
Fax: (313) 577-6243
E-Mail: sgiorgini@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/sgiorgini
Connie Jean Green
Title: Lecturer - Spanish
Office#: 325 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
E-Mail: connie.green@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/connie-green
Donald Haase
Title: Professor - German / Senior Associate Dean of CLAS
Office#: 2155 Old Main
Phone: (313) 577-2818
Fax: (313) 577-9693
Research Area: Folktales and Fairy Tales, The Brothers Grimm
E-Mail: dhaase@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/dhaase
Francisco J. Higuero
Title: Professor - Spanish
Office#: 313 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: 20th and 21st Century Literature of Spain
E-Mail: aa1340@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/Higuero
Lisabeth M. Hock
Title: Associate Professor / Undergraduate Advisor - German
Office#: 457 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: 19th century literature and culture
E-Mail: lhock@wayne.edu
Web Site: www.langlab.wayne.edu/lhock/index.html
Joel B. Itzkowitz
Title: Associate Professor - Classics / Graduate Advisor - Classics
Office#: 429 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Greek and Latin linguistics
E-Mail: jitzkowitz@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/jitzkowitz
Leisa Kauffmann
Title: Assistant Professor - Spanish
Office#: 327 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Colonial Latin American Literature & Culture
E-Mail: lkauffmann@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/lkauffmann
Saeed Khan
Title: Lecturer - Near Eastern
Office#: 437.1 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Ethnic Identity politics, Islamic & Muslim history
E-Mail: s.khan@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/s-khan
Alina W. Klin
Title: Senior Lecturer - Polish / Undergraduate Advisor - Polish
Office#: 411 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Contemporary Polish culture, literature, and film
E-Mail: a.klin@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/a-klin
Laura A. Kline
Title: Senior Lecturer - Russian / Undergraduate Advisor - Russian
Office#: 450 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Russian prison camp prose, Russian culture
E-Mail: Laura.Kline@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/Laura-Kline
Thomas D. Kohn
Title: Associate Professor - Classics / Undergraduate Advisor - Classics
Office#: 417 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Latin poetry, ancient theater, mythology
E-Mail: tdkohn@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/tdkohn
Haiyong Liu
Title: Associate Professor - Chinese / Undergraduate Advisor - Chinese
Office#: 471 Manoogian
Phone: (313) 577-9937
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Chinese Syntax, 1st and 2nd-Language Acquisition
E-Mail: Haiyong@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/Haiyong
Felecia Lucht
Title: Assistant Professor - German / Coordinator of Basic Language Courses
Office#: 405 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: German-American Studies, Sociolinguistics, Pedagogy
E-Mail: felecialucht@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/felecialucht
Rie Masuda
Title: Lecturer - Asian Studies
Office#: 165 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
E-Mail: Rmasuda@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/Rmasuda
Kathleen McNamee
Title: Professor - Classics
Office#: 423 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Literary papyrology
E-Mail: k.mcnamee@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/k-mcnamee
James Michels
Title: Assistant Professor - Italian
Office#: 421 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Literature, French & Italian cultures, Dario Fo
E-Mail: james.michels@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/james-michels
Jennifer Sheridan Moss
Title: Associate Professor - Classics
Office#: 419 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Documentary papyrology; Greco-Roman Egypt
E-Mail: jennifer.sheridan.moss@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/jennifer-sheridan-moss
Kate Paesani
Title: Associate Professor - French / Coordinator of Basic Language Courses
Office#: 467 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Foreign Language Pedagogy, Literacy
E-Mail: k.paesani@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/k-paesani
Elena Past
Title: Associate Professor - Italian
Office#: 413 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Contemporary Italian crime fiction, cinema
E-Mail: elenapast@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/past
Leonidas Pittos
Title: Lecturer - Ancient and Modern Greek / Modern Greek Advisor
Office#: 440 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Late Antiquity and Byzantium, Modern Greece
E-Mail: leonidas@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/leonidas
Luisa Quintero
Title: Lecturer - Spanish
Office#: 315 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Comtemporary Latin American literature and cinema
E-Mail: ah9941@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/ah9941
Marilynn A. Rashid
Title: Lecturer - Spanish
Office#: 301 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Comparative Literature
E-Mail: m.rashid@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/m-rashid
Jose A. Rico-Ferrer
Title: Associate Professor - Spanish
Office#: 317 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Early Modern Spanish and Medieval Literature
E-Mail: jricofer@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/jricofer
Michele Valerie Ronnick
Title: Professor - Classics
Office#: 305 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Latin Literature, Classical Tradition, Black classicism
E-Mail: mronnic@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/mronnic
Anne Rothe
Title: Associate Professor / Graduate Advisor - German
Office#: 453 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: memory trauma; the Holocaust; East and post-Wende Germany; U.S. popular culture; Oral History
E-Mail: rothe@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/rothe
Maha Saker
Title: Senior Lecturer - Near Eastern
Office#: 321 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
E-Mail: mahasaker@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/mahasaker
Roslyn Schindler
Title: Associate Professor - German
Office#: 379 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Languages, Nazi Holocaust, Interdisciplinarity
E-Mail: roslyn.schindler@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/roslyn-schindler
Donald Schurlknight
Title: Professor - Spanish
Office#: 311 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: 18th and 19th Century Spanish Literature
E-Mail: d.schurlknight@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/d-schurlknight
May Seikaly
Title: Associate Professor - Near Eastern
Office#: 427 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Modern and Contemporary History of the Middle East
E-Mail: m.seikaly@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/m-seikaly
Charles J. Stivale
Title: Distinguished Professor - French
Office#: 361 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Nineteenth-century French studies
E-Mail: c_stivale@wayne.edu
Web Site: www.langlab.wayne.edu/CStivale/index.html
Kenneth Russell Walters
Title: Associate Professor - Classics
Office#: 425 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: the unpublished work of George N. Olcott
E-Mail: kenneth.r.walters@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/kenneth-r-walters
Margaret E. Winters
Title: Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, Professor
Office#: 4092 FAB
Phone: (313) -577-2257
Research Area: Cognitive Semantics, Romance Historical Linguistic
E-Mail: mewinters@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/mewinters
Abderrahman Zouhir
Title: Assistant Professor - Near Eastern / Arabic Course Coordinator
Office#: 461 Manoogian
Phone:
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Language Policy and Second Language Acquisition
E-Mail: zouhir@wayne.edu
Web Site: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/zouhir
Affiliated & Adjunct Faculty
Hong Gao
Title: Visiting Assistant Professor
Office#:
Phone: (313) 577-3002
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Research Area: Chinese literature in the West
E-Mail: fr0500@wayne.edu
Web Site:
Hans-Peter Söder
Title: Adjunct Professor and Resident Director, Junior Year in Munich
Office#: Junior Year in Munich, Richard Wagnet Strasse 27 80333 Munich
Phone: (49 ) 89 -52350833
Research Area: Intellectual and Cultural History, Globalization and National Literature
E-Mail: hans.soeder@lrz.uni-muenchen.de
Web Site: www.jym.wayne.edu/resident_director.html
Staff
Darrell Brockway
Title: Academic Services Officer III
Office#: 475 Manoogian
Phone: (313) 577-3025
Fax: (313) 577-6243
E-Mail: ab2371@wayne.edu
Web Site:
Amanda Donigian
Title: Administrative Assistant I
Office#: 487 Manoogian
Phone: (313) 577-7997
Fax: (313) 577-6243
E-Mail: ad1129@wayne.edu
Web Site:
Terrie Pickering
Title: Academic Services Officer I
Office#: 487 Manoogian
Phone: (313) 577-3003
Fax: (313) 577-6243
E-Mail: t.pickering@wayne.edu
Web Site:
Tiana M. Tocco
Title: Academic Advisor II
Office#: 477 Manoogian
Phone: (313) 577-6240
Fax: (313) 577-6243
E-Mail: t.tocco@wayne.edu
Web Site: clas.wayne.edu/tiana-tocco
Classical and Modern Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
906 West Warren 487 Manoogian
Detroit, MI 48202
Phone: (313) 577-3002
Fax: (313) 577-6243
Website: clasweb.clas.wayne.edu/languages
Email: aa1690@wayne.edu